top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Evolutionists expose their insecurities whenever they use THIS argument


In recent years, atheists, particularly Evolutionists, have developed an irrational fear of the word "believe". They have taken to saying silly things like "I don't believe in Evolution any more than I believe in gravity". Well, I have news for you, my friend: You do believe in gravity. Or, if you don't, the common suggestion is to jump off a cliff and see if you can fly.


So why do atheists say stupid things like this? According to them, it is due to some contrast between belief and knowledge. Exactly what that contrast is depends which one you ask. Some of them say a belief, by its very definition, can only ever be false, whereas others simply say a belief is that which lacks evidence. Therefore, once you have evidence, you no longer have a belief, but rather, knowledge.


In reality, the standard definition of "believe" is to accept something as true. There are no dictionaries (that I can find, anyway) that define a belief as that which is not true, or lacking evidence, and indeed, this would be utterly ridiculous, as literally the only time anyone uses it this way is if they happen to be the type of irrational atheist we're talking about right now. The average English speaker does not have this kind of weird definition in mind. "To accept something as true" is a sufficient definition, as it sums up the way the word is normally used, and has been for as long as any living English speaker has been alive.


This is why I, as a Christian, am quite comfortable using the word "believe" to talk about how I believe in God, I believe the Bible is His word, I believe in gravity, and I don't believe in Evolution. And I can say these things with complete confidence. So, what does that say about Evolutionists who insist on breaking the entire English language in order to stack the deck in their favor?

What it says to me is that they are a lot less confident in the beliefs they insist they don't have than I am in the beliefs I'm quite comfortable admitting I do. I can say I believe the Bible because I am confident the evidence for it is sufficient. I can say I believe in gravity because I am quite secure in my acceptance of it as the truth. Why is it becoming increasingly popular for Evolutionists to say they don't believe in Evolution because it's true? Because they are becoming increasingly aware that it isn't. Their insecurities are made increasingly obvious by the way they fear a level playing field. How dare we treat Evolution the same as any other belief? It is utter sacrilege to suggest Evolution is as weak as... *gasp*... gravity!

There is only one sensible way to claim you don't believe in Evolution, and that is if you actually do not believe in Evolution. If you accept the statement "Evolution adequately explains the origins/diversity of life", or any other similar statement, as true, you believe in Evolution. If that idea is so repugnant to you, you need a more credible belief.

Let me introduce you to one. In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth, and it was very good. He created man in His image, but the first man sinned, as all men do. Unfortunately, the wages of sin is death. Yet, God takes no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but wants all men to be saved and come to the knowledge of the truth. Therefore, He sent His Son to live as a man, and die on a cross. He made Him sin, who knew no sin, so that we, who are sinners, can become the righteousness of God in Him. Everyone who confesses Jesus as Lord, and believes in their heart God raised Him from the dead, will be granted eternal life. That's a far better belief than us being descended from apes.

25 views

Comments


bottom of page