top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

How Allah CAN have a son


Islam is a man made religion. That much is clear from a large number of facts, from the fact that the Qur'an tells Muslims how to attend a meal at Muhammad's house without annoying him (Qur'an 33:53) to the fact that Allah, apparently, thinks Mary is a member of the Trinity. The Qur'an is certainly not of divine origin, and Muhammad, if indeed he existed, was not a prophet of God.


Further evidence of this can be seen in the way in which the Qur'an attacks the fact that Jesus is God's Son, and that God has "...predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will" (Ephesians 1:5). In Qur'an 100-102, we read "And they have invented partners with Allah, the Jinns - while He has created them - and they have forged for Him sons and daughters without any knowledge. Pure is He, and far higher than they describe. (He is) the originator of the heavens and the earth. How can He have a son when He never had a wife? And He created everything, and He knows everything. This is Allah: your Lord, there is no God but He, the creator of everything; so, worship Him. And He is Guardian over everything."


Well I guess that's it. With one devastating question, the Qur'an has finished Christianity once and for all... How can Allah, the originator of the heavens and the Earth, have a Son when He has no wife?


Now, we can get into the Biblical answer in a moment. For now, let's focus on one element Christianity and Islam have in common. Though there are minor differences in the concept, both Christianity and Islam believe God is omnipotent. In Christianity, God cannot lie (Titus 1:2), change His mind (Numbers 23:19), or deny Himself (2 Timothy 2:13), but when it comes to things that are both logically coherent, consistent with His Holy nature, and indeed consistent with His will, He can do anything.


The same is true in Islam. Take, for example, Qur'an 2:117: "Originator of the heavens and the earth, when He decides a matter, to it He simply says: 'Be", and it comes to be." Now, as the Qur'an repeatedly affirms the Bible to be true, we can also take any attribute of God and apply it to Allah. Thus, we can look at the Genesis account and see this taking place. God says "let there be light", and boom, there is light. Taking this to its logical conclusion, Allah does not need a wife to have a son. If He wants a son, he can simply say "be", and it would come to be!


But of course, there is a greater problem here. See, if the Qur'an affirms the Bible, and therefore the God of the Qur'an is the God of the Bible, then the God of the Qur'an does not need to say "be" in order to get a Son. Why? Because long before the Qur'an was written, long before the last Apostle died, even before the heavens and the Earth were created, God was always Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.


Now of course, this means Islam is completely and irrevocably contradictory. If the God of the Qur'an is the God of the Bible, yet the Qur'an constantly contradicts the Bible, then we must admit that the Qur'an is not the word of Allah. There is simply no way around this. In the Bible, Jesus is the Son of God (1 John 5:20), through whom all the heavens and Earth were created (Colossians 1:16), in whom the fullness of Godhead dwells bodily (Colossians 2:9), who was with God and is God (John 1:1). So how can Allah have a Son when He has no wife? Because Allah has always been the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, long before He even created the concept of husbands and wives.


See, Jesus is not the son of God in the way we think of sons as humans. It's not like God found a beautiful girl, took her to bed, and 9 months later, out pops Jesus. In fact, we see in Scripture that Jesus frequently affirmed His own pre-existence.


An excellent example is John 8. In this passage, Jesus disputes with some Jews. Let's read from verse 37 until the end of the chapter: "“I know that you are Abraham’s descendants, but you seek to kill Me, because My word has no place in you. I speak what I have seen with My Father, and you do what you have seen with your father.” They answered and said to Him, “Abraham is our father.” Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would do the works of Abraham. But now you seek to kill Me, a Man who has told you the truth which I heard from God. Abraham did not do this. You do the deeds of your father.”


Then they said to Him, “We were not born of fornication; we have one Father—God.”Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I proceeded forth and came from God; nor have I come of Myself, but He sent Me. Why do you not understand My speech? Because you are not able to listen to My word. You are of your father the devil, and the desires of your father you want to do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it. But because I tell the truth, you do not believe Me. Which of you convicts Me of sin? And if I tell the truth, why do you not believe Me? He who is of God hears God’s words; therefore you do not hear, because you are not of God.”


Then the Jews answered and said to Him, “Do we not say rightly that You are a Samaritan and have a demon?” Jesus answered, “I do not have a demon; but I honor My Father, and you dishonor Me. And I do not seek My own glory; there is One who seeks and judges. Most assuredly, I say to you, if anyone keeps My word he shall never see death.” Then the Jews said to Him, “Now we know that You have a demon! Abraham is dead, and the prophets; and You say, ‘If anyone keeps My word he shall never taste death.’ Are You greater than our father Abraham, who is dead? And the prophets are dead. Who do You make Yourself out to be?” Jesus answered, “If I honor Myself, My honor is nothing. It is My Father who honors Me, of whom you say that He is your God. Yet you have not known Him, but I know Him. And if I say, ‘I do not know Him,’ I shall be a liar like you; but I do know Him and keep His word. Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad.”


Then the Jews said to Him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham?”

Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.” Then they took up stones to throw at Him; but Jesus hid Himself and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by."


This entire passage is devastating to Islam. Note, first, how basically everyone claims God as their Father. Jesus does it, the Jews do it, everyone claims God is their Father, but Allah is a Father to no one. Islamic theology is therefore incompatible with the prior books it affirms.


But note, first of all, how Jesus talks about father/son relationships. There are three fathers mentioned in this passage: God, Abraham, and Satan. Of these 3 fathers, only one of them is the result of husband/wife relations. The Jews are literally the sons of Abraham because He married and slept with Sarah, she produced Isaac who married and slept with Rebecca, she produced Jacob who married and slept with Rachel, and so on and so forth.


But notice, Christ even dismisses this! He does away with the literal, genealogical "we are the sons of Abraham", and says "If you were Abraham’s children, you would do the works of Abraham." He takes biological descent straight out of the picture! Instead of allowing them to keep their claim to be sons of Abraham, He tells them "You are of your father the devil, and the desires of your father you want to do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it. But because I tell the truth, you do not believe Me."


Ah, so it's about doing the will of your father, not simply being physically descended from him. This explains why Jesus also says "If God were your Father, you would love Me, for I proceeded forth and came from God; nor have I come of Myself, but He sent Me." and "I speak what I have seen with My Father..." and "I do not have a demon; but I honor My Father, and you dishonor Me." and "It is My Father who honors Me, of whom you say that He is your God. Yet you have not known Him, but I know Him. And if I say, ‘I do not know Him,’ I shall be a liar like you; but I do know Him and keep His word."


Jesus links Himself with God, His Father, in so many ways, in this passage and in others. It's constantly "I do the will of my Father" etc. But to top it off, Jesus leaves no room for doubting what He is saying. "Then the Jews said to Him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have You seen Abraham?” Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.” Then they took up stones to throw at Him..."


So here we see, first of all, Jesus affirms His own pre-existence. He's seen Abraham, and Abraham has seen Him. But He's not old enough. Not in boday, anyway. So how can this be? So Jesus fires His final cannon: "“Most assuredly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM.”" It takes grievous amounts of theological ignorance to miss what Jesus is saying here. I fact, had it been said by any other human being in the history of pre-Christian Israel, stoning him to death would have been 100% appropriate. Come all the way back to Exodus for a moment: "Then Moses said to God, “Indeed, when I come to the children of Israel and say to them, ‘The God of your fathers has sent me to you,’ and they say to me, ‘What is His name?’ what shall I say to them?” And God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM.” And He said, “Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ ”" (Exodus 3:13-14).


So why were the Jews about to stone Jesus? Because they thought He was a demon possessed man claiming to be God! Well, it turns out, they got the God part right. "...before Abraham was, I AM." "‘I AM has sent me to you.’ ”". Jesus is God. But He's also the Son of God.


And this is where we get into the doctrine of the Trinity. As previously mentioned, the author/s of the Qur'an really didn't understand this doctrine. See, unlike God, they're not omniscient. They thought Christians believe Allah, Jesus, and Mary, are three gods. But in reality, the Trinity is very much monotheistic. The Trinity is one God existing in three separate, coequal persons. The Father is the one God. The Son is the one God. The Holy Spirit is the one God. Yet, in spite of being the one God, they are also separate in consciousness. Thus, they relate to each other. How does the Son relate to the Father? By submitting to Him and doing His will. Perfectly. Jesus is more of a Son to the Father than any human being will ever be to anybody. He is a better Son than any Jew has ever been to Abraham, or even to Satan, because whatever God willed, Jesus fulfilled.


So how can Allah have a Son if He has no wife? Well, if we dismiss the Satanic book from which this argument springs, it's really quite simple: God has always had a Son, and the Son has always been God. There was never a time when this was not the case. No wife needed. It is simply the nature of God, from everlasting to everlasting.


The good news is, as we have already seen, Christ is God's unique Son, yet through Him, we may also become sons and daughters of The Most High. How? Through adoption. As sinners, none of us would escape the judgment. Each and every one of us would be doomed to Hell, forever facing the wrath of God for sins. But in His unfathomable mercy, God instead sent His Son to receive that wrath on our behalf. In order to receive this free gift, all we need to do is believe.


Muhammad was a liar and a false prophet. He did the will of his father, the devil, and when he spoke his lies, he spoke from the devil's resources. But if you believe Christ, you will become sons of the Father, and beyond all imagination, receive an inheritance in His everlasting Kingdom. Do not be cheated out of this by the same spirit that dragged Muhammad down to Hellfire. Repent, and believe the Gospel, just as the Qur'an, ironically enough, tells you to.

14 views
bottom of page