top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

If you believe it, meditate on it


I remember a number of years ago when I was sitting in my favorite cafe, my good friend told me a story about an atheistic professor who asked his class to raise their hands if they believed the Bible is the word of God. A lot of hands went up, after which he asked "how many of you have actually read it?" Most of the hands went down, and the professor asked with a grin "now, how many of you really believe the Bible is the word of God?"


I remember panicking after hearing that story. At that point in my faith, I hadn't read past Samuel, and so I knew I would have been among those who had to put their hands down. I still believed, as I still do, that the Bible is the word of God, but my actions, or rather lack thereof, betrayed me.

Now, there are a number of reasons for a Christian to have not read the word of God. If you're a new convert, for example, no one expects you to have gone from Genesis 1:1 all the way to Revelation 22:21. Perhaps you have difficulty reading anything too wordy. Perhaps you don't even have access to a Bible in your primary language (though if you're reading this article, you're probably not going to fall into this category). Whatever your reason for not having completed the Bible, I would like to encourage you that you are not less of a Christian than those who have.

But at the same time, I want to encourage you to follow the Psalmist's example. Do everything within your power to get your nose in the Bible on a regular basis. Truly, the Bible is the word of God. The God you pray to. Often, the Bible is His answer to your prayers. When you talk to God, the Bible is God's way of talking back.

8 views
bottom of page