top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Incensed by incense: Motive is everything


In 2023, I was reconnected with an old friend. She decided to invite me on a shopping trip in celebration of what, to her, was a very significant day. During this trip, I bought a box of incense of varying scents, and I remember, as we sat in the town square, she asked what I use it for. "Well you see," I began, sarcastically, "when you prop it up and set it on fire, it makes the room smell nice." "Oh," she replied, almost sounding disappointed. "So you don't use it to cleanse the area?" "Yes, of pungent smells, like dog farts".


For as long as I have lived, this is the only purpose for which I have ever used incense. It is effectively an alternative to scented candles, to which no one ever seems to object. Yet, I find many Christians view incense as a bad thing. They think it's necessarily about "cleansing the area", whatever that means. Or, as may well be the case for some people, as part of religious practice.


I remember in particular when I first bought the incense burner seen in the header image. My friend, who is particularly spiritually conscious, was concerned at the time. She told me about how incense is significant in Buddhism, and how I was playing with fire by bringing this thing into my bedroom. Now, in fairness, I do indeed have to "play" with fire to make the incense sticks work, and I am well aware of how incense is used in some religions. The tubes in which incense sticks come sometimes even explain on the box what each individual scent is supposed to represent, promote, or do.


However, as I frequently purchase multipacks, I happened to have a box of one scent in particular: Frankincense. My friend's mind was immediately put at ease, as not only did she recognise the word, but the box itself spoke of how this was gifted to the Lord upon His birth. Even as I write this, I possess a tube of frankincense and myrrh, on which we find written "Frankincense and myrrh combines two biblical fragrances which promotes spiritual enlightenment."


Now, if He who knew no sin was gifted, and presumably used, frankincense and myrrh, it is highly illogical to give the devil full dominion over the practice of burning incense. Indeed, burning incense was a major practice in the Old Testament, with a whole altar being dedicated to it (see Exodus 30). Furthermore, prayer is symbolically associated with incense (e.g. Psalm 141:2; Revelation 8:3-4). To my knowledge, the most negative thing the Bible says about incense is that the Jews were not permitted to replicate the incense of Exodus 30 for personal use. Beyond this, I do not know any command against incense, with the New Testament mentioning it a mere 7 times.


As mankind tends to do, we have corrupted the practice of burning incense. What should be a pleasing feature of our lives, and occasionally even a symbol of our devotion to God, various religions have turned into an evil, idolatrous practice. Because of this corruption, it comes as no surprise to me that many Christians are wary of the idea. And to such Christians, I say God be with you; avoid incense like the plague. There is no command to us to burn incense, and thus you are not sinning if you do not burn it. However, what we find in Romans 14 is that anything that does not come from faith is sin. Therefore, if your conscience regards incense as unclean, then to you, it is. Do not touch it.


If, however, your conscience is clear, and indeed if you both know and believe the Bible's teaching on incense, then you see that your motive matters. As we find in Titus 1:15, "To the pure all things are pure, but to those who are defiled and unbelieving nothing is pure; but even their mind and conscience are defiled." Therefore, as there is no inherent sin in incense, a Christian is free to burn it, giving thanks to God for yet another wonderful Earthly pleasure.

17 views
bottom of page