top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Is it ok to be an introvert?


Likely due to my autism (and bullying I have endured as a result), I am personally very introverted. Basic interactions with human beings are very difficult for me. I don’t like small talk, I struggle to keep eye contact, I avoid large crowds, and it's generally very obvious that I don't like being around most people. To many people, especially to extroverts, this behavior is strange, and many, even in the Church, consider it evil. These argue that the Bible frequently talks about loving people and not neglecting to meet with the Church, and so naturally, since introversion often to get in the way of that, it must be evil.


However, there are two sides to this coin. Solitude has its advantages. God’s people often heard from God when they were alone (e.g. Jacob in Genesis 32:24-32). Even Jesus would often withdraw to be on His own and pray (Luke 5:16).


Furthermore, introversion comes directly from God. For as long as I remember, I have struggled with being an introvert, but verses like Lamentations 3:28 remind me that it is not a sin. God has laid this upon me for His glory. Mankind was neither designed to be extroverted or introverted; both have their advantages. What matters is that we follow the commandments of God, the greatest of which are love the Lord with all your heart, mind and soul, and love your neighbor as yourself. If you become so introverted that you become separated from the Church, that is sin. But as long as you aren’t neglecting your responsibilities and continue to show love to others, you aren’t doing anything wrong. The flip side would be to become so extroverted, you become imposing, and therefore unloving, to others.

7 views
bottom of page