top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Non-Catholics believe God dropped a Bible?


In a debate I once had with a Catholic, I received this meme. "Non-Catholics believe that after the last Apostle died, God dropped the New Testament complete with chapters and verses". Now, do you, or anyone you know, believe that? I certainly don't. What I believe is that before the Apostles died, they, under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, wrote several documents that would one day be known as the New Testament.


Now, Catholics do not believe exactly what I sarcastically stated in the header image. However, Catholics do often claim that there was no Bible for 400 years, and that theirs is the Church who produced it. Thus, while they do not believe exactly what I said, they may as well.


A major problem for the Catholic story of how the Bible came to be is the inspiration dilemma. That is, if the New Testament is inspired, it was authoritative before the Catholic Church ever claims to have canonised it, and Catholicism is false because it blasphemes by trying to usurp the authority of God. If the New Testament is not inspired, Catholicism is still false, as it currently affirms that the New Testament is inspired. Either way, Catholicism is false.


The correct answer, according to the Bible itself, is the former. Here, Paul tells Timothy that all scripture is inspired by God. The original Greek term actually means "God breathed". In other words, the New Testament is now, always has been, and always will be, exactly as authoritative as if God Himself had personally sat down with a quill and parchment and written every single letter by hand.


In other words, every time the Catholic Church makes any kind of claim about the authority of the Bible coming from them, they are effectively saying "we have more authority than God". Now, I don't know about you, but this is not the kind of thing I personally want on my record. I have more than enough sins, including blasphemy, nailed to that cross as it is. If I'm going to disobey God, it's not going to be because I think I have the right to. Would you not agree?

6 views
bottom of page