top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Not tithing ≠ not giving


If there's one thing that really annoys me about Theological discussions, it's the way we often, seemingly deliberately, talk past each other.


"Hey, I don't believe baptism is essential to salvation."

"What? This guy says you shouldn't get baptised!"


"Salvation is by grace through faith, not of works."

"You're an anarchist!"


"Tithing is not a Biblical requirement."

"Why wouldn't you want to give to charity though?"


Silly little miscommunications like this really annoy me. I wish we'd put less effort into reading between the lines and instead focus on reading the lines themselves. I don't believe baptism is essential for salvation, but I do believe it's essential for obedience. I don't believe works save, but I believe salvation causes works. I don't believe we are required to tithe, but I do believe that what a man gives to the Lord is between him and the Lord.


How much time is wasted on these silly disputes? If we'd make just a little more effort understanding each other, we might actually make some progress! Bickering about the basics hinders the advanced stuff. As Christians, we should learn to communicate, because if we can't communicate with our own words, how in the world can we relate to a God who chose a book as His way of speaking to us?


4 views
bottom of page