top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Self serving politicians and the true faith they hate


"I'm a Christian by choice. My family didn't—frankly, they weren't folks who went to church every week. And my mother was one of the most spiritual people I knew, but she didn't raise me in the church. So I came to my Christian faith later in life, and it was because the precepts of Jesus Christ spoke to me in terms of the kind of life that I would want to lead—being my brothers' and sisters' keeper, treating others as they would treat me." - Barack Obama


"I am a person of faith. I am a Christian. I am a Methodist. I have been raised Methodist. I feel very grateful for the instructions and support I received starting in my family but through my church, and I think that any of us who are Christian have a constantly, constant, conversation in our own heads about what we are called to do and how we are asked to do it, and I think it is absolutely appropriate for people to have very strong convictions and also, though, to discuss those with other people of faith." - Hillary Clinton


"I am a practising member of the Church of England and so forth, that lies behind what I do." - Theresa May


It's amazing how many people profess the Christian faith while simultaneously spitting on the face of Christianity. The three politicians quoted above, along with a number of public figures I could have quoted, have all professed their Christian faith, some of them even claiming their faith as their motive for their actions, and yet they are quite clearly opposed to the Bible, even to the point of calling Biblical principles "hate speech", and calling for religious freedom, specifically the freedom to be a Christian, to be heavily restricted.


All of this tells us that, unfortunately, nothing has changed in the last 2,000 years. People falsely claimed faith in the past, people falsely claim faith today. But the good news is nothing has changed in the last 2,000 years. The oppressors could not stop Jesus from rising, and the oppressors cannot put Him back in the grave. Whether you live in America, where religious freedom is struggling, or in the UK, where religious freedom is dying, or even somewhere religious freedom is long dead, there is a freedom offered by God that no government can grant you or take from you: The free gift of eternal life.


When so-called Christians tell you you have to celebrate other people's sins because God wants us to be tolerant, you have the absolute right to refuse, and your reward for such will be greater than anything on earth. When those who profess faith use their faith as an excuse to suppress your message, you have the absolute right to preach, and it is far better to please God than man, because God can give you a greater Kingdom that lasts far longer. When man tells you that good is evil and evil is good, you have the freedom to say, do, and think Holy things, and if they hate you for it, woe to them; they have made the wrong choice. But you have the right to make the right choice. If you are going to draw near to God with your lips, ensure your heart is with Him too.

8 views
bottom of page