top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

That time a rap song taught me scripture


Whatever you might say about Lecrae as a person, his music, which I don't think can be faulted, was a large influence on my early Christian life. One of his most significant songs, though certainly not my favorite with regard to tune, was Anger Management, in which Lecrae explains the Biblical approach to anger. He talks about how anger is unprofitable, and actually quite audacious, because God forgives us, therefore how can we afford to hold anger in our own hearts?


But all of this could easily have dissipated from my memory. It's been a while since I last listened to Lecrae, and even longer since I last listened to that particular song. Nevertheless, the line about 1 Peter 2:23 seared itself into my memory. I can't pretend I've applied it perfectly over the course of my life, but without this song, I might not even have it in my mind to be applied. Which brings me to the words of Isaiah: "So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.” (Isaiah‬ ‭55:11‬).


Sadly, there are many in the Church today who actively condemn various forms of music, rap music being at the top of the list, but it seems to me almost blasphemous to do so. It goes from "I don't personally like rap music, so I won't listen to it" to "I don't like rap music, therefore you can't listen to it". This is elevating your personal opinions to the level of God's, violating the doctrine of Sola Scriptura, which states that we can neither add to scripture (Proverbs 30:5-6), nor may we take from it (Deuteronomy 4:2, 12:32), and that the word of God is fully sufficient (2 Timothy 3:16-17). It is also quite clear where it needs to be (Psalm 119:130).


If we cannot add to God's word, we cannot add the condemnation of rap music. If we cannot take away from God's word, we cannot remove things which talk about Christian liberty, not judging each other for how we celebrate, or not quarrelling over questionable matters. If the Bible is fully sufficient, it should already condemn rap music. If it is clear, we shouldn't need to read that into the text.

I have heard rumors that Lecrae has backslidden, and if that is true, it is my hope and prayer that the Lord will humble him, and his heart will return home. But music can never backslide. The message in the song Anger Management, along with many of Lecrae's other songs, cannot be said to be unChristian. While they may be delivered in a tune you don't enjoy, they are theologically accurate, and of course helped me learn scripture, which they will likely do for many others. Therefore, Christians need to stop fighting over this issue. Some things are worth dividing over, but musical preference is absolutely not one of them.

6 views
bottom of page