top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Why should I think like you?


There are two things that can come with age. The first is wisdom. The accumulation of mistakes, when combined with the ability to learn from them, leads to both the ability to avoid making the same mistakes, and the possibility of passing on that knowledge. The second is arrogance. The belief that you have learned much creates the internalised impression that everyone else should automatically submit to your authority just because you are the authority.


One of the reasons I use a pseudonym for this ministry is so that people cannot be sure of my age. Long time followers may have seen memes featuring my face, and from that can probably figure out an age range for me (though allegedly, my hair style can really throw people off), but most people who come to Bible Brain boasting of their experience have no idea who I am. I could be 16, I could be 61. I could even be older than that. Who knows? They don't.


But still they assume my level of experience. Of course, the first thing age should teach you is that age indicates nothing. There are stupid old people, there are savvy young people. And of course, if we're talking about someone who claims to believe the Bible, there are verses like Job 32:7-9 and 1 Timothy 4:12 to contend with. "I'm older than you" will never be a valid argument.


Nevertheless, some older people still use it. I am often told "I used to think like you". Most hilariously, this is often used by people with opposite ideas. A Christian turned atheist and a "Protestant" turned Catholic can both say it. Evidently, one of them is wrong. But to convince me of any idea requires a good reason for me to accept it. I don't want to hear "I used to think like you, then I changed". Tell me why you changed, and why you think I should too.


But usually they don't. It's usually paired with ad hominems and more boasting. "You're not educated enough yet!" Ok, well apparently you are, so educate me. Tell me exactly what you think the flaw in my thinking is. They never do. I can tell them what I think the flaw is in their thinking. You used to be a Christian before you "found out" Christianity is a fake? Well no wonder, you wouldn't know the Gospel if I threw a Bible at your head. You used to be a Creationist before you were told Evolution fits Christianity? Let's open the Bible and see if it agrees with you. Oh look, it doesn't. You used to be a "Protestant" before you studied the early Church sources? My friend, the Apostle Paul lived much closer to the time of Jesus than Augustine.


In the end, boasting about one's past, however far back it extends, must be paired with some kind of relevant anecdote to be worth anything. For example, the aforementioned Apostle Paul boasted of his past. But his argument wasn't just "I'm older than you". It wasn't "I used to believe what you do, but then I grew up." His argument was "I used to persecute the Church, but then I literally saw Jesus, and there are so many other witnesses to His death and resurrection that can back up my new faith."


No matter how old I get, I will always value a solid argument over a loud boast. The only religion that consistently and reliably gives those is the Christian faith. The resurrection to which Paul testified really happened, and through faith, and only through faith, can we rise with Him. Could I think differently in the future? With all the evidence I have seen, I highly doubt it, but if it's not true, I don't want to believe it. But to stop believing it, I'll need a lot more than "I used to think like you." Show me why I should think like you.

5 views
bottom of page