top of page
  • Writer's pictureBible Brian

Don't be discouraged by the thorn in your side


We Christians can often be very ungrateful pieces of crockery. As the thing that is formed, we often say to the one who formed us "why did you make me like this?" Some of us complain about relatively small things. Natural things that really shouldn't bother us as much as they do, such as our gender, or sometimes even a body part we don't particularly like. I've even seen one girl curse her hazel eyes, not because she didn't like them, but because she knew the guy she wanted to be with at the time found green eyes most attractive.


But there are other traits we can possess that can actually hinder our lives. Birth defects, genetic diseases, or, in my case, autism. Autism is a highly complex mental disorder, characterised by abnormal communication, mental development, and sensory experience.


Thankfully, in the modern day, autism awareness has spread far and wide. I can come out and admit I am autistic, and if anyone bullies me for it, not only can I defend myself, but other more civilised people will often defend me too. I also happen to be what's called "high functioning", which means I am a lot more capable of dealing with, and even hiding my condition than others with autism. Nevertheless, I am more than willing to admit that autism is a great hindrance in my life.


Because of my autism, I have great difficulty relating to other humans. I have even lost "friends" (who, of course, I now realise were no friends at all), and suffered great persecution from my childhood to this very day, because of my autism. It also affects my ability as a writer, because even if it were possible to convey tone through text, I do not always have the ability to use the right tone, even when it comes to in-person conversations. My particular brand of autism also comes with what I call "cold, hard logic mode". That is, I am so committed to the truth that I am unable to empathise with those who aren't. X is true, Y is false, and if you don't like that, tough. I have very little ability to empathise with those who would substitute a difficult truth with a comfortable lie, and this really shows in the way I write, be it a regular article, or dialogue with a real person. Similarly, nothing offends me more than bad logic. In the flesh, I often want to insult people who use it, but as a Christian, I know the Lord would rather I love a person enough to correct them with gentleness and respect, rather than smashing them as much as the idea they present.


As you can see, though I am rather good at managing my autism, it is still a hindrance. I have not even explained half of how it does so. Thus, I have often wished I was not autistic. And when I heard of a young man who actually managed to convince God to take his autism away, I became even more discouraged, because no amount of prayer has ever done the same for me.


But then I read of a similar struggle by Paul. In 2 Corinthians 12, Paul famously tells us of his "thorn in the flesh". A so-called "messenger from Satan". This is unbelievably ambiguous. We know that whatever it is greatly hindered Paul, and that Paul prayed for God to remove the thorn. But whatever it is, we don't know. It could be a physical infirmity. It could have been mental illness. Perhaps it was a specific sin he struggled with, or maybe even a person who would harass him in his ministry. Whatever this thorn was, Paul did not like it, and willed that God would take it away. But God said no.


God's response was far more glorious than taking away the thorn. Rather than just getting rid of it, He used it. "My grace is sufficient for you. My strength is made perfect in weakness." The Lord is not hindered by the thorns in your flesh, as you are. He gave them to you so that you can glorify Him!


Consider this: We are far more impressed when the hero beats the odds than when they are in his favor. What would you think of a man who raced a car on a bicycle and won? The bike may not be as impressive as the car, but the fact the man beat the car while on a bike is very impressive. If that same man had been in another car, the odds would be equal, and the man's victory, while still possibly great, would be cheapened. Even more so if his car was the superior model.


We are similarly impressed when, in movies, the hero defeats the villain/s with the odds stacked against him. Imagine, the hero is outnumbered by gunmen. The only weapon he has? A single paperclip. Is this not far more impressive than if he wins with a tank?


My brethren, whatever your weaknesses are, be grateful, for you are God's paperclip. Let me emphasise, you are God's paperclip. He designed you for His glory, and so whatever attributes He gave you, use them. Boast in them, because by them, you achieve a glorious purpose. Be pleased, because God has made you yourself. Therefore, be yourself, and praise Him for it.


9 views
bottom of page